By Sharon Hill
I am diligent about managing email. The more professional associations you join, the more signups at websites and the like usually means more email.
As an example, one of our clients belongs to real estate association as an affiliate member to be allowed access to certain information. This client then receives emails targeted to the main group (Realtors) concerning property listings. I opt out when these emails are from a centralized (paid for) source which works for a while. In other cases when the email is coming from a local source, I have contacted the individual directly. I politely make them aware of CAN SPAM law especially when there is no opt out in the email. Some folks are truly unaware of the law and assume everyone on the association list is interested in their emails.
In some cases, it is not so clear and once in awhile, you may receive an email that could be legit or spam, who knows?
Most of the email clients and email browsers allow you to look at the headers. Here is an example from Yahoo!
By right clicking on the message selected but not opened, you will see the drop down menu with View Full Headers at the bottom. Click and you open a dialog box with this type of information. Much of the text is just letters run together (which I removed for this blog) so you must look at the nuggets of information as shown below:
———————————————————————————————————–
From Western Union Mone=?UTF-8?Q?y_Transfer_=C2=AE?= Fri Jun 11 12:32:32 2010
X-Apparently-To: youremailaddress@yahoo.com via 98.137.26.168; Fri, 11 Jun 2010 05:42:50 -0700
Return-Path: <info@westernunion.com>
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 200.24.31.85
Received-SPF: none (mta1003.mail.mud.yahoo.com: domain of info@westernunion.com does not designate permitted sender hosts)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO edufisica.udea.edu.co) (200.24.31.85)
by mta1003.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 11 Jun 2010 05:42:43 -0700
Received: from edufisica.udea.edu.co (edufisica.udea.edu.co [127.0.0.1])
by edufisica.udea.edu.co (8.14.1/8.14.1) with ESMTP id o5BCWWhd014793;
Fri, 11 Jun 2010 07:32:33 -0500
From: “Western Union Mone=?UTF-8?Q?y_Transfer_=C2=AE?=” <info@westernunion.com>
Reply-To: western_union101@hotmail.co.uk
Subject: Thank You
Date: Fri, 11 Jun 2010 08:32:32 -0400
———————————————————————————————————————-
Obviously, this email is not from Western Union. This little trick has helped our company and our clients identify spam emails from valid emails.
@social_dynamics



Social Media Content Spamming – Tracking and Taking Action
Friday, November 20th, 2009By Sharon Hill
Still dealing with the spammers from Russia. I did make progress but I have one pesky fellow named Vadim.
I have my WordPress/Settings/Discussion set to:

I do not want to add an entire country to the blacklist, so I have tried the @domain.ru as a compromise. In my case, it was @fesin.ru. This worked until Vadim started spamming. I tried several different versions in my blacklist.
Prior to Vadim, WordPress and Akismet were doing their jobs because I was not seeing any more spam from the domain @fesin.ru. In fact, I only received 2 Russian originated spam comments in a period of 3 weeks.
Then along comes Vadim. So how do I know it is someone named Vadim?
In the email you receive, information is provided such as:
Author : lipitorw (IP: 81.30.187.197 , 81.30.187.197.dynamic.ufanet.ru) E-mail : dxxdxxdxxs1111@gmail.com
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=81.30.187.197
Use this link: http://www.db.ripe.net/whois and input the IP address (in this case 81.30.187.197)
This way you can get to the source:
person: Vadim Gxxxxx
address: deleted for blog
address: deleted for blog
address: deleted for blog
phone: deleted for blog
fax-no: deleted for blog
e-mail: vadim@ufanet.ru
Now I can add vadim@ufanet.ru along with previously added @ufanet.ru and @dyanmic.ufanet.ru in my blacklist.
You also receive the link in the email where the spammer wants to send you. I actually went to the link imbedded in the comment. It is a stumbler at stumbleupon.com. Sure enough this stumbler is all about the online pharmacy site. I check another email and go to another link. This one is at a forum for collaboration. The links are member pages or member forums that look like something real until you scroll down and see the ad to buy the prescriptions. In one case, it appeared to link to a member site and instead went to a landing page (ad). In checking with these sites, I did not find anything specifically against terms of service except no commercial spamming allowed and no posting that promote businesses. It is not always intuitive how to contact the sites to register a complaint. Most of the social media sites expect members to police themselves.
I realize that not many folks would not take the next step. I called the online pharmacy and actually spoke to someone letting him know that our blog was being spammed from Russia with links to their company website! I emailed the Whois information along with our blog URL address. I received a nice automated reply. The pharmacy is located in England. I do not expect any real action.
So far I have received spam by way The Netherlands, Russia and The British Virgin Islands.
In the RIPE database there are two fields labeled mnt-by and referral-by. By clicking on one or both you should be able to find the abuse@ address. I sent one to the British Virgin Islands and received a response. No more email from that spammer!
In my email accounts, I have been extremely proactive in responding to spam and have been quite successful. I plan on taking the same approach with comment spamming.
With email spammers, I use the unsubscribe link, then spam it and then block or filter it. In addition, if they are in violation of the CAN-SPAM Act http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/business/ecommerce/bus61.shtm I cut and paste the relevant portion along with the link and email it back. Locally, when someone in just trying to make a buck and harvests emails from an association, I have called them, and while being polite, have let them know that there are laws regarding sending unsolicited emails and offer to send them the link.
There is a much grumbling about spam and I admit that I have grumbled too. Since we are the recipients of spam it is difficult to be proactive without be overly restrictive. Go the extra mile and learn about how your blogs are being spammed. Understand the underlying activity and set a course of action, then do the work.
@social_dynamics
Tags: blog spamming, comment spam, content spam, Email, email spamming, spam, spammers, stumbler, stumbleupon, WordPress spamming
Posted in Articles, Blogging, Email, Facebook, Social Media and Social Networking, Technical, Twitter | No Comments »